Wal Read Memorial Award!

Wal R Read circa 1990The Australian PV Institute has great pleasure in supporting the Wal Read Memorial Award for Best Paper and Best Poster to winners chosen from students to the conference. Both undergraduate and postgraduate students are eligible.

The Wal Read Memorial Award comprises a Certificate of Recognition from the Australian PV Institute, and cash prizes from the Council of $1,000 for Best Paper and $500 for Best Poster.

The 2020 Winners were …

Best paper: Hou Sheng Zhou (UNSW Sydney)
Aggregated impact of coordinated commercial-scale BESS and financial outcome

Best poster: Utkarshaa Varshney (UNSW Sydney)
Light-Induced Degradation and Recovery in Multicrystalline Silicon: Dependence on Wafer Thickness

Wal Read joined the CSIRO in Melbourne in the early 1960s, under Roger Morse. He worked on the early solar projects at Muresk and Coober Pedy. The Coober Pedy project was the world’s largest solar project at that time. Wal also managed two early industrial process heat solar demonstration projects: one in Queanbeyan, the other at a South Australian brewery.

Wal became President of ANZSES in 1976 and was an integral part of the history of solar energy development in Australia, leading the solar research team at CSIRO after Roger Morse’s retirement. He also played a key role at the international level, as President of ISES from 1983-85, and Secretary-Treasurer of ISES from 1985-1995.